There are five tenets defined in the ITF.

Courtesy (Ye-ui / 예의)
Showing courtesy to all, respecting others, having manners as well as maintaining the appropriate etiquette at all times, both within and outside the dojang (도장) (designated training area).
Integrity (Yeom-chi / 염치)
Although it may be similar, this form of integrity takes on a more wider role then defined in the common dictionary. In Taekwondo, integrity means not only to determine what is right or wrong but also having the conscience to feel guilt if one has done wrong and to have the integrity stand up for what is right.
Perseverance (In-nae / 인내)
One will persevere time and time again until they have achieved a result which is adequate towards what one was trying to achieve.
Self-control (Geuk-gi / 극기)
This means to not only have control over one’s physical acts, but also their mental thoughts and actions.
Indomitable spirit (Baek-jeol-bul-gul / 백절불굴)
To have indomitable spirit means to have the courage to stand up for what you believe in, no matter what odds you are up against, and to always give 100% effort in whatever you do.


1.禮義 (礼儀)


2.廉耻 (廉恥)